Review: Appy Feet

Today on my day off my wife and I decided to venture down to the Fishergate Centre in Preston, Lancashire to do some Christmas Shopping, upon entering the upper floor we came across a newly opened store called Appy Feet (19th November 2010). Not knowing exactly what it was we entered the store and began talking to the person behind the desk. For those not in the know, Appy Feet is a spa where fish eat your dead skin.

Sounds Gross!

Ok, that is a very gross way of describing what happens, and also not entirely true. The fish do not actually eat the dead skin off your feet, they merely remove it and then pass it out through their gills. The tanks have fresh water running into them at all times and there is a powerful filter at the base filtering all the dirt straight out of the tank, the water is completely clear.

How Does It Work?

Basically the fish have little suckers for mouths, they pass over your feet at suck away at the dead skin, removing it from your feet and they pass the skin through their gills. The sensation is lightly ticklish, and I do mean lightly, I personally have a very low tickle threshold and had no problems as the fish attended my feet. The best way to describe the sensation is light bubbles from a jacuzzi.

Pricing

Today my wife and I both used the service, I paid £20 which allowed us 15 minutes each. The Pricing structure is as follows:

Hands

  • £5 – 5 Minutes
  • £10 – 15 Minutes

Feet

  • £10 – 15 Minutes
  • £20 – 35 Minutes

Verdict

Personally I liked the experience, it was something completely different to anything I have seen before, and it was reasonably priced. I found it relaxing and my feet feel a lot fresher. When you are done you are offered moisturiser (or at least my wife was) for your feet. Before you start you have to wash your feet in a small foot shower, so it is hygienic as well. I recommend it, if only for the sake of trying something different.

Leave a Reply

